New North Dakota State House, Senate Majority Leaders are chosen

(Bismarck, ND) — North Dakota’s Senate and House Republican caucuses elected new leaders Monday night at their respective caucus meetings in Bismarck.

Senate Republicans elected Senator David Hogue (District 38-Minot) Senate Majority Leader, Senator Jerry Klein (District 14-Harvey) Deputy Majority Leader and Senator Kristin Roers (District 27-Fargo) President. of the Republican caucus in the Senate.

“I really look forward to serving my colleagues and the people of North Dakota,” said Hogue, who has served in the state Senate since 2009.

House Republicans elected Rep. Mike Lefor (District 37-Dickinson) for House Majority Leader, Rep. Glenn Bosch (District 30-Bismarck) for Deputy Majority Leader, and Rep. Austen Schauer ( District 13-Fargo) for caucus chair.

“I’m excited about this challenge, we have a great agenda, including labor recruitment, child care, pension reform, tax relief and cutting government costs,” he said. Lefor said in a statement posted on WDAY Radio. “We have a fantastic group of Republican lawmakers this session and I can’t wait to get started.”

Former Senate Majority Leader Rich Wardner and House Majority Leader Chet Pollert announced their retirements earlier this year, leading to the election of a new leadership for the 2023 legislative session. , as well as new Deputy Leaders, Caucus Chairs and Speaker of the House.

Committee chairs and members will be selected during the organizational session in the first week of December.

The 2023 legislative session begins on January 3.

Comments are closed.